killoqc.blogg.se

Chicken of the vnc for mac
Chicken of the vnc for mac








chicken of the vnc for mac
  1. #CHICKEN OF THE VNC FOR MAC MAC OS X#
  2. #CHICKEN OF THE VNC FOR MAC CODE#
  3. #CHICKEN OF THE VNC FOR MAC PC#

The is only necessary if your account name on the remote computer is different than the account name from which you are connecting. You'll have to make sure 5901 will be open to your iMac if that router has a firewall, and make sure the 2 hosts are on the same network, or that the router can connect the 2 different networks. Try: ssh -L 5901:(imac's ip address):5901 ip address) You don't want this.effectively a traffic loop (within your PB) to nowhere. Local port 5901 will be sending traffic to local port 5900. The connection establishes w/o any problems.Close. In Terminal on the PB I write: ssh -L 5901:localhost:5900 my.routers.ip.address

#CHICKEN OF THE VNC FOR MAC CODE#

I prefer Timbuktu because it is all in one (the controller and controllee code are both in the same program). If it does (and Netopia fail to fix it) then I will be forced to using VNC. I worry that it will break with Panther since Netopia do not seem interested in upgrading it.

#CHICKEN OF THE VNC FOR MAC MAC OS X#

For example, why no TCP/IP Scanner in Windows? Why not fix the keyboard mapping error between Mac and Windows (which I reported FOUR YEARS AGO!!!), why not integrate with Mac OS X user authentication (like the Windows version integrates with a Windows domain controller or Active Directory).

chicken of the vnc for mac

I am rather disappointed that Netopia seem to have abandoned the product. a Mac OS X machine controlling a Mac OS 9 machine feels fast, but a Mac OS X machine controlling a Mac OS X machine feels slow). The bottle neck seems to be the machine being controlled (i.e. Personally, I find Timbuktu under Mac OS X to be very slow, much slower than it was (is) under Mac OS 9 on the same machine over the same link.Įven over ADSL it is slow, I shudder to think how slow it would be over a modem.

#CHICKEN OF THE VNC FOR MAC PC#

This won't be useful to everyone, but if you have a need to see a remote Mac / PC / UNIX box on your Mac, check out Chicken of the VNC. I haven't yet tested it from the office to the house, where my cable connection upload speed is the limiting factor, but I expect it will still outperform VNCThing. I'm not sure how well it works over slower connections, but the VNC server/client combo on a LAN makes for a fairly speedy remote experience. Once installed (simple!) and running, I had a much more usable remote access setup. Not only did this make my mouse work much much better (click and drag worked, as did contextual menus and my scroll wheel!), but "the Chicken" also supports the "tight" VNC protocol, which greatly speeds the client/server interaction. So I went looking and stumbled onto Chicken of the VNC. I wasn't thrilled, however, with its speed or lack of support (perhaps my configuration issues) for my mouse - it worked, but I couldn't click and drag at all. With the server running on one box, you need a client on the other to access the server, and I had been using VNCThing.

chicken of the vnc for mac

  • Price: FreeIn working with my new G5 and the old G4, I did a lot of work with one monitor for two machines, using the free OSXvnc server package.









  • Chicken of the vnc for mac